Planning Commission


The planning commission is a group of appointed officials who oversees city planning and zoning issues. This group is charged with controlling growth, promoting economic health, and improving the quality of life for all citizens. Terms are for three years. Terms and membership are outlined in Ordinance 1028 and 1177. The planning commission shall consist of seven members, two of whom may reside outside the city limits but within three miles of the city limits. This is a volunteer appointment. Meetings are conducted at 6:30 p.m. the last Wednesday of the month, unless a holiday occurs that week. The number in parentheses indicates the year the current term ends.

  • Thorvald McKiearnan (Feb 2025), chair
  • Carol Aust (Feb 2026)
  • George Bazin (Feb 2024)
  • Jason Crooks (Feb 2026-member who resides outside city limits)

  • Chris Hoffman (Feb 2025-member who lives outside the city limits)
  • Michael Sharp (Feb 2024)
  • Michelle Olson (Feb 2024)
  • TJ Williams - Council Liaison